Pulling Under

galle_l_finalportfolio_ADR322_07

 

Woah guys, college is no longer. I just blinked and it was over. Am I an adult yet? Hardly. The reality check hasn’t been too harsh, and I am testing the waters of freelance photography. I will admit it’s all a little daunting. Not only do you have to be good at what creative services you are providing, but you have to be good at selling who you are. It’s no secret in the world of photography that people hire those they like to be around. You can’t really blame them though. Who wants to hang out with a complete schmuck during a full day shoot?

Drifting thoughts aside, I’d like to share an image I created that’s pretty quintessential of the feels that I feel…literally all the time. Obviously it has multiple meanings because I am all about ambiguity. Do you ever feel one moment you are drowning and the next you are like “Wait, no guys I’m totally cool. Seriously, I got this.” Story of my life. My ability to grasp on motivation towards creative endeavors is only so so at the moment. It’s not that I am burnt out, but once in a while my brain needs a break. I have to reconnect to the drive that landed me in this position (graduate of photo school. woo!) in the first place. Once you find it you have to nurture it. Sometimes we fall off that path because we learn so many rights and wrongs from so many people who have a dead set way of doing things. One moment we think we are creating all the right things then BAM! someone says something else is correct. You get pulled in so many directions. You stumble. You doubt the path you once believed in.

You know what? Forget them. You do you boo. No one knows you more than you.

Art is so subjective anyway. Who’s to say what is right? I’m right, your right…only if you think so though.

But dude, I know you are. So…happy dance/ fist pump? cool! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Pulling Under

Leave a comment